The Society’s “Golfer of the Year”, Roland Agambar, rolled over his good form from last season when comfortably winning the Burton Challenge Cup at our first fixture of 2017 held at The Grove.

His 36pts were three points clear of runner-up Ian McIlgorm who was one point clear of new Society member Gordon Thomson.   Roland was cut two shots for his impressive win and will now play off 14 handicap for the next three fixtures with Ian cut one shot to 13.

The Grove was again a very popular fixture with its challenging championship course and lightning fast greens that caught out so many players as they tried to come to terms with how fast they were. Fourth was Ian McGowan with 31 pts, just beating into fifth place last year’s Captain, Lisa Heywood, who showed that without the weight of officialdom she was able to post her best score with the Society for some considerable time.  In 6th place was Joe Marvel who had travelled down from the Leicester finance department with fellow new member Louis Botting.  There were six winners in the fund raising “Back the Winner” competition with Roland, Barry Theobald, Felix Duckworth, Arthur Martin, Adam Kemp and Society Captain, John Morgan, all winning £30 each.

With such difficult greens there were just two players managing a “2” with Mike Creaby and guest Mike Orchard both winning £15 each with £18 to the Society.  Mike Orchard’s shot to the 4th green hit the flag and stop agonisingly just under half a golf ball away from dropping into the hole which would have been his first hole-in-one.

Consolation for Mike was that no one was able to beat his “Nearest the Pin” so he won a bottle of  champagne along with Martin Morgan who collected the champagne  for his shot on the long downhill 13th that finished just eight feet from the hole.  Prizes were present by Captain John and everyone agreed that The Grove was a tremendous course to play and a great way to start the  Society’s annual fixtures.

Mike Creaby, who was unable to attend the Christmas Scramble, was presented with his prize for taking part in last year’s play-off for the Golfer of the Year  that was won at Frilford Heath by Roland.