There was a first time winner at the West Hill fixture when Martin Morgan came home an easy winner of the The Rothermere Challenge Cup.
His 38 pts was well clear of runner-up Clive Heard who beat Lee Terry into third place only on countback who, in turn, beat Ian McGowan on countback. All three scored 32pts and they were just one clear of new member Richard Bunt.
Martin, joint vice-President of the Society with Peter Williams and recently retired, had only managed to play one game on his home course since the Inter-Company competition in Portugal June, but this didn’t stop him playing his best game for many a year. So pleased was he with his score that he had his card copied to take back to his home club at Royal Wimbledon.
“West Hill is such a lovely course and a real treat to play, and although I played here last year with the Society, for some reason everything just clicked.” Martin said as he collected his inscribed glassware from new Society Captain John Morgan,  officiating at his first golf event since taking over from former Captain Lisa Heywood.
To mark Lisa’s two years as Captain, secretary Garth Burden presented Lisa with a box of the Society’s Bumble Bee Prov1 golf balls.
Lisa was also the only winner in the “Back the Winner” competition, and, being the only person to invest £5 on Martin, won a massive £140 with £60 going to the Society funds.  As has happened so often, Martin didn’t back himself to win at West Hill, which was ironic as, at the previous Berkshire fixture, he was the only person in the same competition to put his money on Barry Theobald who also didn’t think he was playing well enough to win.
The West Hill course was in prestine condition, with the heathland fairways almost perfect and greens deceptively fast and difficult to read.
As opposed to no-one being able to get a 2 at The Berkshire, there were six winners in the fund raising 2’s competition and these were Garth Burden, Mike Creaby, Lee Terry, Arthur Martin, Alistair Sinclair and Ian McGowan twice.  They each received £10 each for their 2’s with £22 towards the funds.
This was the final fixture in the Order of Merit competition which runs throughout the year with the best 3 scores at fixtures counting towards the playoff for the title “Golfer of the Year”.  The top four to qualify are Roland Agambar, Mike Creaby, Barry Theobald and Ian McGowan and the play-off will take place at Frilford Heath.